Depression & Wicca

HELLO!

depressionHappy Sunday,
So, I’ve decided to try to post on a topic every other week or day possibly. I’m not hundred percent sure but this is how it starts. I’ve written this post ahead of time so as to keep myself on target. I’m also on my 3rd cup of coffee which leads me into the topic at hand.

Depression.

Now, the clinical definition of depression is a (major depressive disorder); It is a common but serious mood disorder. It causes severe symptoms that affect how you feel, think, and handle daily activities, such as sleeping, eating, or working.

*Pause*

I am not saying I have depression but that this how someone with depression may or may not feel. I’m always appreciate critiques, my knowledge is somewhat secondhand.

*Resume*

I can say however that I believe I have S.A.D. which is Seasonal Affective Disorder, which can cause you to have depressive episodes.

If you’re unaware of SAD.

Here is the definition:
Seasonal affective disorder (SAD), also known as winter depression, winter blues, summer depression, summertime sadness, or seasonal depression, is a mood disorder subset in which people who have normal mental health throughout most of the year experience depressive symptoms in the winter or summer.

In one of my recent videos I mentioned that I’ve been exhausted lately and I didn’t understand why. This is (or just could) be the reason, and to top it off I was drinking excessive amounts of coffee. that alone can cause a small doses of depression in me (personally).

So, I found that when I focused on prayer I felt a bit better. I could ask the deities for clarity and focus and that’s when this idea came to mind.

How can Wicca or any faith assist in depression? I understand that this won’t work for everyone but I wanted to know if it was even possible. Could someone actually benefit from having a religious path and conquer even a small portion of their battle with depression?

Which brings me to the image above.
That quote was so fitting to this question I had to borrow it from the Wiccan Woman.

For Christmas I went to Florida and just appreciated nature in all its wonderment while I sang a song to the God of the Sea; Song to Mananaan with a bit of help from Celia. As well as sitting in the ocean on New Years Eve at 11:00pm until 12:00am. It was both calming and enchanting. It also confirmed that some of us need to take time out to appreciate our respective religions. According to the PsychCentral.com post written by Doctor Grohol. Religion actually CAN cure depression.

The full research article was also printed in the American Journal of Psychiatry. The final results were that “A high self-report rating of the importance of religion or spirituality may have a protective effect against recurrence of depression, particularly in adults with a history of parental depression.” – I found this fascinating.

That there is a small cure compared to just treatment through medications. However, I do recommend still seeing a doctor at the same time. Hypocritical? No.

depression-removal-candle-magickIf there is something out there that is stronger or just as strong as a medication then I will definitely recommend looking into it but nothing beats getting a regular check up every once in a while.  –

I apologize now if my topic is still slightly diluted; I think it’s just the coffee. 3 cups should be the max. Actually 1 cup should be my max. . . Anywho; my last piece on this subject is to perform a banishing spell.

It is geared towards depression and came up in a simple “Wiccan and Depression” GOOGLE/BING search.
I’ll be adding this to my BOS but tailoring it to fit my needs a bit better.
I recommend that you do the same if you are planning to use this spell.

P.s. Let me know if you try the spell out too.
~ August B.
ran

